[logo: Charles de Lint]
Home | Biography | Books | Appearances | Contact | Bibliography | FAQ | Cover Gallery | Newsletters
Twitter Facebook MySpace Tumblr
Other Books
Juniper Wiles and the Ghost Girls (2022)
Juniper Wiles (2021)
The Wind in His Heart (2017)
Newford Stories: Crow Girls (2015)
Jodi and the Witch of Bodbury (2014)
Out of This World (2014)
Over My Head (2013)
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest (2013)
Under My Skin (2012)
The Painted Boy (2010)
The Very Best of Charles de Lint (2010)
Muse and Reverie (2009)
Eyes Like Leaves (2009)
The Mystery of Grace (2009)
Woods and Waters Wild (2009)
Yellow Dog (2008)
What the Mouse Found (2008)
Dingo (2008)
Little (Grrl) Lost (2007)
Old Man Crow (2007)
Promises to Keep (2007)
Widdershins (2006)
Triskell Tales 2 (2006)
Make A Joyful Noise (2006)
The Hour Before Dawn (2005)
Quicksilver & Shadow (2005)
The Blue Girl (2004)
Medicine Road (2004)
Refinerytown (2003)
Spirits in the Wires (2003)
A Handful of Coppers (2003)
A Circle of Cats (2003)
Tapping the Dream Tree (2002)
Waifs and Strays (2002)
Seven Wild Sisters (2002)
The Onion Girl (2001)
The Road to Lisdoonvarna (2001)
Triskell Tales (2000)
Forests of the Heart (2000)
The Buffalo Man (1999)
The Newford Stories (1999)
Moonlight and Vines (1999)
Someplace to be Flying (1998)
Trader (1997)
Jack of Kinrowan (1997)
The Ivory and the Horn (1995)
Memory & Dream (1994)
The Wild Wood (1994)
Into the Green (1993)
The Wishing Well (1993)
Dreams Underfoot (1993)
I'll Be Watching You (1992)
From a Whisper to a Scream (1992)
Merlin Dreams in the Mondream Wood (1992)
Spiritwalk (1992)
Paperjack (1991)
Our Lady of the Harbour (1991)
Hedgework and Guessery (1991)
Death Leaves an Echo (1991)
Ghosts of Wind and Shadow (1991)
Uncle Dobbin's Parrot Fair (1991)
The Little Country (1991)
The Dreaming Place (1990)
Angel of Darkness (1990)
Ghostwood (1990)
Drink Down the Moon (1990)
The Fair in Emain Macha (1990)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Hidden City (1990)
Westlin Wind (1989)
Berlin (1989)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Valley of Thunder (1989)
Svaha (1989)
Wolf Moon (1988)
Greenmantle (1988)
Jack the Giant-Killer (1987)
Ascian in Rose (1987)
Yarrow: An Autumn Tale (1986)
Mulengro: A Romany Tale (1985)
The Harp of the Grey Rose (1985)
Moonheart: A Romance (1984)
The Riddle of the Wren (1984)
De Grijze Roos (1983)
Death Leaves an Echo
Death Leaves an Echo

Death Leaves an Echo appears in Cafe Purgatorium: Three Novels of Horror and the Fantastic along with "Dr. Krusadian's Method" by Dana M. Anderson and "Cafe Purgatorium" by Ray Garton.

These three stories, each in a strong and original voice, range from the delicately fantastic and disturbing to the gruesomely horrific. All invoke the weird and uncanny sensations of our hidden fears and desires.
Source: Book Cover

Kirkus Reviews , 05/15/91:
Three original novels of horror and the fantastic" claims the publisher in its catalogue and galley copy. Well, not quite. It turns out that these are novellas, not novels; and, more importantly, the longest work here—Garton's "Dr. Krusadian's Method"—appeared in his Methods of Madness collection (1990). Moreover, the quality here is, at best, just a cut above 1950's pulp—and that's in the last and shortest novella. Readers must first slog through Anderson's lumpy title story, in which a man buys a haunted nightclub, learns that the souls therein are coveted by Lucifer, and does bloody battle with His minions, winning with the same principle that allowed the Little Engine to go up the hill. As short-story writer Anderson's longest published work, this bodes poorly; Garton, whose "Dr. Krusadian's Method" comes next, can at least fall back on having written one of the wittiest of splatterpunk novels, Live Girls (1987 paperback). Here, in a yarn about an occult cure for child abuse, the splatter is in full force, if not the wit. More appealing is de Lint's "Death Leaves an Echo," in which this prolific mass-market fantasist (Jack the Giant Killer, 1990, etc.) spins a catchy premise—a man wakes up to find every trace of his wife gone from the world—and embroiders it inventively. The revelatory climax lacks the drama of the premise and is preceded by some gratuitously graphic sex, but, overall de Lint spools out a smooth and satisfying yarn. Skip the Anderson, rip out the Garton, you're left with one decent novella—for $18.95?

Tor (part of three novella collection, Cafe Purgatoriam); hardcover, 1991 Tor (part of three novella collection, Cafe Purgatoriam); mass market, 1993

If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to rturner@arctera.com.
Copyright © 2006–2021 Charles de Lint All Rights Reserved Worldwide