[logo: Charles de Lint]
Home | Biography | Books | Appearances | Contact | Bibliography | FAQ | Cover Gallery | Newsletters
Twitter Facebook MySpace Tumblr
Other Books
Juniper Wiles and the Ghost Girls (2022)
Juniper Wiles (2021)
The Wind in His Heart (2017)
Newford Stories: Crow Girls (2015)
Jodi and the Witch of Bodbury (2014)
Out of This World (2014)
Over My Head (2013)
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest (2013)
Under My Skin (2012)
The Painted Boy (2010)
The Very Best of Charles de Lint (2010)
Muse and Reverie (2009)
Eyes Like Leaves (2009)
The Mystery of Grace (2009)
Woods and Waters Wild (2009)
Yellow Dog (2008)
What the Mouse Found (2008)
Dingo (2008)
Little (Grrl) Lost (2007)
Old Man Crow (2007)
Promises to Keep (2007)
Widdershins (2006)
Triskell Tales 2 (2006)
Make A Joyful Noise (2006)
The Hour Before Dawn (2005)
Quicksilver & Shadow (2005)
The Blue Girl (2004)
Medicine Road (2004)
Refinerytown (2003)
Spirits in the Wires (2003)
A Handful of Coppers (2003)
A Circle of Cats (2003)
Tapping the Dream Tree (2002)
Waifs and Strays (2002)
Seven Wild Sisters (2002)
The Onion Girl (2001)
The Road to Lisdoonvarna (2001)
Triskell Tales (2000)
Forests of the Heart (2000)
The Buffalo Man (1999)
The Newford Stories (1999)
Moonlight and Vines (1999)
Someplace to be Flying (1998)
Trader (1997)
Jack of Kinrowan (1997)
The Ivory and the Horn (1995)
Memory & Dream (1994)
The Wild Wood (1994)
Into the Green (1993)
The Wishing Well (1993)
Dreams Underfoot (1993)
I'll Be Watching You (1992)
From a Whisper to a Scream (1992)
Merlin Dreams in the Mondream Wood (1992)
Spiritwalk (1992)
Paperjack (1991)
Our Lady of the Harbour (1991)
Hedgework and Guessery (1991)
Death Leaves an Echo (1991)
Ghosts of Wind and Shadow (1991)
Uncle Dobbin's Parrot Fair (1991)
The Little Country (1991)
The Dreaming Place (1990)
Angel of Darkness (1990)
Ghostwood (1990)
Drink Down the Moon (1990)
The Fair in Emain Macha (1990)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Hidden City (1990)
Westlin Wind (1989)
Berlin (1989)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Valley of Thunder (1989)
Svaha (1989)
Wolf Moon (1988)
Greenmantle (1988)
Jack the Giant-Killer (1987)
Ascian in Rose (1987)
Yarrow: An Autumn Tale (1986)
Mulengro: A Romany Tale (1985)
The Harp of the Grey Rose (1985)
Moonheart: A Romance (1984)
The Riddle of the Wren (1984)
De Grijze Roos (1983)
Quicksilver & Shadow
Quicksilver & Shadow
Subterranean Press

Quicksilver & Shadow is the second volume of my early short story collections. It focuses on the early contemporary, dark fantasy and science fiction stories, and it finally brings all of my Bordertown stories together in one place. The cover is done by MaryAnn Harris.

Contemporary Fantasy
"His City"

"May This Be Your Last Sorrow"

Dark Fantasy
"Death Leaves An Echo"
"L'Esprit de la Belle Mariette"
"The Face in the Flames"
"The Soft Whisper of Midnight Snow"
"We Are Dead Together"
"From a 24" Screen"

Science Fiction
"A Witch in Rhyme"
"Songwalking the Hunter's Road"
"The Lantern is the Moon"
"The Dralan"
"The Cost of Shadows"
"Raven Sings a Medicine Way, Coyote Steals the Pollen"
"A Tattoo on Her Heart"

For ordering information, contact:

Subterranean Press
P.O. Box 190106
Burton, MI 48519
Subterranean Press web site
Publishers Weekly:
The second installment of Canadian author de Lint's collected early stories opens powerfully with haunting tales from his contemporary and dark fantasy period. "The Soft Whisper of Midnight Snow," "Scars," "We Are Dead Together" and others typify Charles Grant's "quiet horror" approach. All deal with grief and even rage at the loss of loved ones and the importance of recovery. The next section features contributions to Terri Windling's shared world Bordertown anthology series, the best of which, "May This Be Your Last Sorrow," focuses on a lonely and endearing street urchin. Closing the book is a quaint if sometimes awkward selection of what de Lint describes as "science fantasy" that comes off as pulpish, but still manages to include two brilliant jewels, "A Tattoo on Her Heart," about the importance of totems, and "Raven Sings a Medicine Way, Coyote Steals the Pollen," a retelling of a traditional Blackfoot Trickster tale. The first collection, A Handful of Coppers (2003), showcased heroic fantasy's influence on de Lint; this sequel highlights the Newford magician to come, who likes to "juxtapose old mythic matter with the modern world."

Subterranean Press; hardcover, 2005

If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to rturner@arctera.com.
Copyright © 2006–2021 Charles de Lint All Rights Reserved Worldwide