[logo: Charles de Lint]
Home | Biography | Books | Appearances | Contact | Bibliography | FAQ | Cover Gallery | Newsletters
Twitter Facebook MySpace Tumblr
Other Books
Juniper Wiles and the Ghost Girls (2022)
Juniper Wiles (2021)
The Wind in His Heart (2017)
Newford Stories: Crow Girls (2015)
Jodi and the Witch of Bodbury (2014)
Out of This World (2014)
Over My Head (2013)
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest (2013)
Under My Skin (2012)
The Painted Boy (2010)
The Very Best of Charles de Lint (2010)
Muse and Reverie (2009)
Eyes Like Leaves (2009)
The Mystery of Grace (2009)
Woods and Waters Wild (2009)
Yellow Dog (2008)
What the Mouse Found (2008)
Dingo (2008)
Little (Grrl) Lost (2007)
Old Man Crow (2007)
Promises to Keep (2007)
Widdershins (2006)
Triskell Tales 2 (2006)
Make A Joyful Noise (2006)
The Hour Before Dawn (2005)
Quicksilver & Shadow (2005)
The Blue Girl (2004)
Medicine Road (2004)
Refinerytown (2003)
Spirits in the Wires (2003)
A Handful of Coppers (2003)
A Circle of Cats (2003)
Tapping the Dream Tree (2002)
Waifs and Strays (2002)
Seven Wild Sisters (2002)
The Onion Girl (2001)
The Road to Lisdoonvarna (2001)
Triskell Tales (2000)
Forests of the Heart (2000)
The Buffalo Man (1999)
The Newford Stories (1999)
Moonlight and Vines (1999)
Someplace to be Flying (1998)
Trader (1997)
Jack of Kinrowan (1997)
The Ivory and the Horn (1995)
Memory & Dream (1994)
The Wild Wood (1994)
Into the Green (1993)
The Wishing Well (1993)
Dreams Underfoot (1993)
I'll Be Watching You (1992)
From a Whisper to a Scream (1992)
Merlin Dreams in the Mondream Wood (1992)
Spiritwalk (1992)
Paperjack (1991)
Our Lady of the Harbour (1991)
Hedgework and Guessery (1991)
Death Leaves an Echo (1991)
Ghosts of Wind and Shadow (1991)
Uncle Dobbin's Parrot Fair (1991)
The Little Country (1991)
The Dreaming Place (1990)
Angel of Darkness (1990)
Ghostwood (1990)
Drink Down the Moon (1990)
The Fair in Emain Macha (1990)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Hidden City (1990)
Westlin Wind (1989)
Berlin (1989)
Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon: The Valley of Thunder (1989)
Svaha (1989)
Wolf Moon (1988)
Greenmantle (1988)
Jack the Giant-Killer (1987)
Ascian in Rose (1987)
Yarrow: An Autumn Tale (1986)
Mulengro: A Romany Tale (1985)
The Harp of the Grey Rose (1985)
Moonheart: A Romance (1984)
The Riddle of the Wren (1984)
De Grijze Roos (1983)
Muse and Reverie
Muse and Reverie

Muse and Reverie is an all-new collection of short fiction in Charles de Lint's "Newford" universe—the fifth such collection since 1993, and the first since 2002. Previous collections are Dreams Underfoot, The Ivory and the Horn, the World Fantasy Award-winning Moonlight and Vines, and Tapping the Dream Tree.

Tor Books published Muse and Reverie in hardcover in December, 2009.

Muse and Reverie Contents:

(01) "Somewhere In My Mind There Is a Painting Box" The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest, edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, New York: Viking, (2002)
(02) "Refinerytown" Triskell Press, 2001
(03) "A Crow Girls Christmas" with MaryAnn Harris Triskell Tales 2, Subterranean Press, 2006
(04) "Dark Eyes, Faith and Devotion" Magic Tails, edited by Martin H. Greenberg & Janet Pack; New York: DAW Books, (2005)
(05) "Riding Shotgun" Subterranean Press, 2007
(06) "Sweet Forget-Me-Not" Triskell Press, 2002
(07) "That Was Radio Clash" Taverns of the Dead, edited by Kealan Patrick Burke; Baltimore: Cemetery Dance, (2005)
(08) "The Butter Spirit's Tithe" Emerald Magic, edited by Andrew M. Greeley, New York: Tor Books, (2004)
(09) "Da Slockit Light" Triskell Press, 2003
(10) "The Hour Before Dawn" The Hour Before Dawn, Subterranean Press, 2005
(11) "Newford Spook Squad" Hellboy: Odder Jobs, edited by Chriostopher Golden; Milwaukie, OR: Dark Horse Comics, (2004)
(12) "In Sight" Maiden, Matron, Crone, edited by Kerrie Hughes & Martin H. Greenberg; New York: DAW Books, (2005)
(13) "The World in a Box" Triskell Press, 2004
Publishers Weekly, (starred review) 10/21/2009:
This collection of 13 stories is the fifth set in Newford, de Lint's city of artists, musicians and magic, and the first since 2002's Tapping the Dream Tree. Interspersing time travel ("Riding Shotgun," "That Was Radio Clash") and period pieces ("The Hour Before Dawn") with tales of Native American and Celtic magic ("A Crow Girls' Christmas," "Da Slockit Light"), de Lint creates an entirely organic mythology that seems as real as the folklore from which it draws. From flighty yet powerful avatars to fiendish goblins, the characters are complex and clever, and even the most fantastical still has a sense of humanity. The endings often contain twists worthy of O. Henry. These clever, frightening, wise and entertaining stories are an excellent introduction to de Lint's writing and imagination, and will also provide longtime fans a welcome return to Newford. (Dec.)

Tor Books; hardcover, 2009

If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to rturner@arctera.com.
Copyright © 2006–2021 Charles de Lint All Rights Reserved Worldwide